Eyman infuriates Democrat senators at Friday’s hearing with this: “I really question the motives of the sponsors of this anti-initiative bill”

by | Jan 22, 2018

RE: Eyman infuriates Democrat senators at Friday’s hearing with this: “I really question the motives of the sponsors of this anti-initiative bill”

They always do these hearings so that regular folks can’t show up. The legislative hearing in Olympia was at 8 am on Friday. That meant that I had to wake up at 5 am to drive for hours to get there in time, spent hours at the hearing, and then drive for hours to get home. Ugh.

The hearing was on Senate Bill 5386, the initiative death-by-delay bill. It would guarantee that future initiatives will never qualify because before you could print up petitions and collect signatures, you’d be forced to face years of bureaucratic delay.

Click on the arrow below to watch my testimony. The Q&A afterwards is spectacular.

If that doesn’t work, click on this link to watch it:

(Make sure to watch until the 00:40:38 mark where I say “I question the motives of the sponsors …” Democrat Senator Patty Kuderer, a co-sponsor of the bill, was livid and immediately responds with a snide: “Mr. Eyman, thank you for questioning my motives.” It’s a must see exchange.

If you can’t watch the video for whatever reason, this part of my testimony really got under their skin:

EYMAN: “For years, a Democrat senator from Seattle named Ken Jacobsen pushed a constitutional amendment to get rid of the initiative process. He was honest – he didn’t think voters were smart enough to decide public policy issues and so he straightforwardly sought the removal of the people’s right to initiative from the Constitution. His quixotic efforts failed.

“The lesson politicians should have learned was: don’t mess around with the initiative process, people don’t like that. Unfortunately, anti-initiative politicians decided instead that it was Jacobsen’s honesty that was the problem. So now, with fake smiles and false rhetoric, legislators who hate the initiative process try to achieve surreptitiously what they can’t do honestly – end the right to initiative.”

I punched ’em in the nose. It’s critical that all of you to follow up and punch ’em again. We’ve got ’em on the run, let’s keep ’em on the run.

Please email this, or something like this, to ALL legislators (tell ’em what ya think):

“Senate Bill 5386, the initiative death-by-delay bill, is a transparent attempt to kill the people’s right to initiative. It is obvious that this bill hurts, and doesn’t help, the process. I’m absolutely disgusted with the Democrat party that it’s now their top legislative priority to shut down the people’s initiative power. SB 5386 subjects citizen initiatives to years of delays by forcing the courts, for the first time ever, to rule on initiatives before they collect a single signature. SB 5386 removes the people’s right to even try to do an initiative. The initiative process is ours, not yours. Leave it alone.”

Subject line: I ask you to oppose anti-initiative bills like Senate Bill 5386

Cut and paste these email addresses into the To line of your email — here’s the 98 House members for the 2018 session:

sherry.appleton@leg.wa.gov; andrew.barkis@leg.wa.gov; steve.bergquist@leg.wa.gov; brian.blake@leg.wa.gov; vincent.buys@leg.wa.gov; michelle.caldier@leg.wa.gov; bruce.chandler@leg.wa.gov; mike.chapman@leg.wa.gov; frank.chopp@leg.wa.gov; judy.clibborn@leg.wa.gov; eileen.cody@leg.wa.gov; cary.condotta@leg.wa.gov; richard.debolt@leg.wa.gov; tom.dent@leg.wa.gov; beth.doglio@leg.wa.gov; laurie.dolan@leg.wa.gov; mary.dye@leg.wa.gov; carolyn.eslick@leg.wa.gov; jake.fey@leg.wa.gov; joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov; noel.frame@leg.wa.gov; roger.goodman@leg.wa.gov; paul.graves@leg.wa.gov; mia.gregerson@leg.wa.gov; dan.griffey@leg.wa.gov; larry.haler@leg.wa.gov; drew.hansen@leg.wa.gov; mark.hargrove@leg.wa.gov; mark.harmsworth@leg.wa.gov; paul.harris@leg.wa.gov; dave.hayes@leg.wa.gov; jeff.holy@leg.wa.gov; zack.hudgins@leg.wa.gov; morgan.irwin@leg.wa.gov; bill.jenkin@leg.wa.gov; laurie.jinkins@leg.wa.gov; norm.johnson@leg.wa.gov; ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov; christine.kilduff@leg.wa.gov; steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov; brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov; shelley.kloba@leg.wa.gov; vicki.kraft@leg.wa.gov; joel.kretz@leg.wa.gov; dan.kristiansen@leg.wa.gov; john.lovick@leg.wa.gov; kristine.lytton@leg.wa.gov; drew.macewen@leg.wa.gov; nicole.macri@leg.wa.gov; matt.manweller@leg.wa.gov; jacquelin.maycumber@leg.wa.gov; joan.mcbride@leg.wa.gov; gina.mccabe@leg.wa.gov; bob.mccaslin@leg.wa.gov; joyce.mcdonald@leg.wa.gov; jeff.morris@leg.wa.gov; dick.muri@leg.wa.gov; terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov; ed.orcutt@leg.wa.gov; timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov; lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov; tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov; mike.pellicciotti@leg.wa.gov; strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov; eric.pettigrew@leg.wa.gov; liz.pike@leg.wa.gov; gerry.pollet@leg.wa.gov; kristine.reeves@leg.wa.gov; marcus.riccelli@leg.wa.gov; june.robinson@leg.wa.gov; jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov; cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov; sharontomiko.santos@leg.wa.gov; david.sawyer@leg.wa.gov; joe.schmick@leg.wa.gov; mike.sells@leg.wa.gov; tana.senn@leg.wa.gov; matt.shea@leg.wa.gov; vandana.slatter@leg.wa.gov; norma.smith@leg.wa.gov; larry.springer@leg.wa.gov; melanie.stambaugh@leg.wa.gov; derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov; mike.steele@leg.wa.gov; drew.stokesbary@leg.wa.gov; monica.stonier@leg.wa.gov; pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov; gael.tarleton@leg.wa.gov; david.taylor@leg.wa.gov; steve.tharinger@leg.wa.gov; javier.valdez@leg.wa.gov; luanne.vanwerven@leg.wa.gov; brandon.vick@leg.wa.gov; mike.volz@leg.wa.gov; jim.walsh@leg.wa.gov; jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov; sharon.wylie@leg.wa.gov; jesse.young@leg.wa.gov; tim_eyman@comcast.net

Send a separate email for the Senate — here’s the 49 senators for the 2018 session:

jan.angel@leg.wa.gov; barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov; michael.baumgartner@leg.wa.gov; randi.becker@leg.wa.gov; andy.billig@leg.wa.gov; john.braun@leg.wa.gov; sharon.brown@leg.wa.gov; reuven.carlyle@leg.wa.gov; maralyn.chase@leg.wa.gov; annette.cleveland@leg.wa.gov; steve.conway@leg.wa.gov; j.darneille@leg.wa.gov; jeannie.darneille@leg.wa.gov; manka.dhingra@leg.wa.gov; doug.ericksen@leg.wa.gov; joe.fain@leg.wa.gov; phil.fortunato@leg.wa.gov; david.frockt@leg.wa.gov; bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov; brad.hawkins@leg.wa.gov; steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov; jim.honeyford@leg.wa.gov; sam.hunt@leg.wa.gov; karen.keiser@leg.wa.gov; curtis.king@leg.wa.gov; patty.kuderer@leg.wa.gov; marko.liias@leg.wa.gov; john.mccoy@leg.wa.gov; mark.miloscia@leg.wa.gov; mark.mullet@leg.wa.gov; sharon.nelson@leg.wa.gov; steve.oban@leg.wa.gov; mike.padden@leg.wa.gov; guy.palumbo@leg.wa.gov; jamie.pedersen@leg.wa.gov; kevin.ranker@leg.wa.gov; ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov; christine.rolfes@leg.wa.gov; rebecca.saldana@leg.wa.gov; mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov; timothy.sheldon@leg.wa.gov; shelly.short@leg.wa.gov; dean.takko@leg.wa.gov; kevin.vandewege@leg.wa.gov; keith.wagoner@leg.wa.gov; maureen.walsh@leg.wa.gov; judy.warnick@leg.wa.gov; lisa.wellman@leg.wa.gov; lynda.wilson@leg.wa.gov; hans.zeiger@leg.wa.gov; cyrus.habib@ltgov.wa.gov; ltgov@ltgov.wa.gov; tim_eyman@comcast.net

Sending these 2 emails will really help — BUT IT’S ONLY EFFECTIVE IF WE ALL DO IT. If you have any problem, just email me the message you want sent, and I’ll forward it to all legislators (and I’ll cc you). OK?

After 20 years of fighting for taxpayers, we’ve learned that the most effective way to fight the Democrats’ tax-hiking schemes is by taking our case directly to the people. That’s why we’re moving full steam ahead with We Don’t Want An Income Tax. It prohibits the state and local governments from imposing any kind of income tax, especially a capital gains income tax.

Jack, Mike, and I are committed to protecting taxpayers. But we can’t do it alone. We need everyone’s help.