Fantastic photos — 2/3-for-any-tax-increase rule change spurs Legislator of the Year Awards

by | Jan 23, 2017

Last week, I went to Olympia to personally present Legislator of the Year awards to the 25 members of the Senate’s Majority Coalition Caucus.     

   Here’s Republican Mike Baumgartner:

Here’s Republican John Braun:

Sen. John Braun with Tim Eyman receiving an award, Jan. 19, 2017.

That’s Republican Barbara Bailey:

Here’s Democrat Tim Sheldon:

Here’s Republican Sharon Brown (I need your advice:  what color should I order? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2GeF7A05zQ8)

And this is newly elected senator Republican Lynda Wilson:

And here’s Republican Mark Schoesler, Senate Majority Leader of the Majority Coalition Caucus:


         On the first official day of the session, the 25 members of the MCC installed a 2/3-for-any-tax-increase vote requirement in the formal rules.  That protection will only stay in effect as long as the MCC controls the senate.  If the Democrats ever take over, they’ll repeal it immediately and katy bar the door ’cause they’ll then impose massive tax increases, especially an income tax — it’s an absolute certainty.

      So the 2/3 rule is a tenuous protection, but it’s still one worthy of our recognition and appreciation.  

      To thank these 25 senators for listening to the people, just cut and paste these email addresses into the To line:

jan.angel@leg.wa.govBarbara.bailey@leg.wa.govMichael.baumgartner@leg.wa.govrandi.becker@leg.wa.govjohn.braun@leg.wa.govsharon.brown@leg.wa.govbrian.dansel@leg.wa.govdoug.ericksen@leg.wa.govjoe.fain@leg.wa.govphil.fortunato@leg.wa.govbrad.hawkins@leg.wa.govjim.honeyford@leg.wa.govcurtis.king@leg.wa.govmark.miloscia@leg.wa.govsteve.oban@leg.wa.govmike.padden@leg.wa.govkirk.pearson@leg.wa.govann.rivers@leg.wa.govdino.rossi@leg.wa.govmark.schoesler@leg.wa.govtimothy.sheldon@leg.wa.govjudy.warnick@leg.wa.govmaureen.walsh@leg.wa.govlynda.wilson@leg.wa.govhans.zeiger@leg.wa.govtim_eyman@comcast.net

         Email them this or something like this:

“MCC members, I wholeheartedly agree you deserve this award because you listened to the 2/3 of voters who oppose higher taxes.  Always remember that Inslee / Democrats / Big Labor / WEA-sponsored judges / the media may sound loud but their rhetoric and agenda only resonates with 1/3 of voters.  The 2/3 of voters who oppose higher taxes will back you as long as you stay strong and block tax increases.  Thank you for what you did – we are grateful you respected us and listened to us.” 

       You can count on us to fight against state and local government’s insatiable tax appetite.  The voters’ passage of our Initiative 1366 certainly shows that the people are in no mood for any tax hikes, let alone Inslee’s increases totaling $5.5 billion (http://www.theolympian.com/news/politics-government/article123912839.html).       

© 2020 Permanent Offense

 

© 2020 Permanent Offense