It’s a slam dunk — I-1366 passes!! Opponents respond by insulting voters

by | Nov 6, 2015

  No doubt about it — Initiative 1366 passed! passed! passed!  It’s a massive victory for the taxpayers — a crushing defeat for opponents.  It’s now clear that we won by a wide enough margin that even King County’s corrupt elections division can’t “do a Dino” to I-1366.

       Here’s how the elitists are reacting to the voters’ 6th approval of the common sense protections in I-1366:  from today’s editorial in the Olympian newspaper:  “Voters made a mistake with I-1366.  … In Tuesday’s election, Washington voters erred in giving approval to Initiative 1366.”

       Not enough father-knows-best condescension for you?  How ’bout now:  “Despite our disappointment in voters, we can take some solace in knowing that I-1366 was rejected in the more savvy communities of Thurston County and King County, which are our seats of government and commerce, respectively.”

      Definition of savvy (adjective):  shrewd, well-informed, see also:  intelligent, brainy, ingenious, perceptive.  Antonyms of savvy:  slow, stupid, ignorant, dull, naive, inexperienced, coarse, unclever, unintelligent, unstylish. 

       Throughout the campaign for I-1366, opponents repeatedly illustrated their contempt for voters.  They frantically and desperately tried to prevent the people from voting on I-1366, a perfect metaphor for their distrust of the citizenry.  Then, after failing to prevent the vote, in August Big Labor (SEIU, WEA, AFL-CIO, etc) paid around $25,000 for polling and focus groups that clearly showed that a well-funded opposition campaign would drive up support for I-1366.  So they spent next to nothing on a “No” campaign (paid consultants got most of Big Labor’s $102,000 in donations).  Opponents instead let their allies in the media do their dirty work for them.   

        Hysterical (hysterical as in crazy and hysterical as in funny) “news” stories and editorials that spent more column inches on lil’ ol’ me rather than the common sense policies and righteous rationale for I-1366. 

       And let’s not forget the media’s breathless, screaming headlines hyping bought-and-paid-for hack pollster Stuart Elway.  As they always do, the press purposely ignored Elway’s endless track record of embarrassingly wrong predictions about our initiatives and in the final days of the campaign they hyped his manufactured and manipulated “polls” in a desperate effort to change public opinion, not measure it.  A true Faustian bargain.

       What did we do?  We trusted the voters.  We trusted them by beating back opponents’ anti-democratic efforts to block the vote.  We trusted the voters by not browbeating them with TV ads and radio ads or newspaper ads (why give money to the enemy?).  We knew voters would do what they always do:  look at the merits of the initiative and decide.  After 5 voter approvals — the last one in a high turnout presidential year getting more votes than any initiative in state history — we had faith in the people. 

         Opponents have repeatedly illustrated they think voters are stupid (today’s Olympian editorial is just the latest example).  We think opponents are wrong about that.  We think that after 6 campaigns and 6 public votes and 6 voter approvals that the voters have been very clear what they want:  protection from Olympia’s insatiable tax appetite with either a vote on a 2/3-for-taxes constitutional amendment or getting some of our money back so they can pay for all the tax increases Olympia will impose without a 2/3 vote requirement to restrain them.

        It’s been a 22 year tug of war — and voters once again pulled the rope in favor of protecting taxpayers by passing Initiative 1366.  We’re absolutely thrilled.

        Here are the 18 Senate Democrats and the percentage of voter support for the 2/3 in their districts (from the high-turnout 2012 presidential year when Initiative 1185 received more votes than any initiative in state history):

19th district Democrat Dean Takko 70%
44th district Democrat Steve Hobbs 69%
5th district Democrat Mark Mullet 68%
29th district Democrat Steve Conway 68%
38th district Democrat John McCoy 67%
49th district Democrat Annette Cleveland 67%
24th district Democrat Jim Hargrove 66%

3rd district Democrat Andy Billig 66%
33rd district Democrat Karen Keiser 64%
1st district Democrat Rosemary McAuliffe 64%
21st district Democrat Marko Liias 63%
11th district Democrat Bob Hasegawa 62%
32nd district Democrat Maralyn Chase 61%
23rd district Democrat Christine Rolfes 60%
48th district Democrat Cyrus Habib 60%
27th district Democrat Jeannie Darneille 60%
40th district Democrat Kevin Ranker 59%
22nd district Democrat Karen Fraser 54%

And here are the 40 House Democrats and the percentage of voter support for the 2/3 in their districts (from the high-turnout 2012 presidential year when Initiative 1185 received more votes than any initiative in state history):

31st district Democrat Chris Hurst 73%
19th district Democrat Brian Blake 70%
19th district Democrat JD Rossetti 70%
47th district Democrat Pat Sullivan 70%
44th district Democrat Hans Dunshee 69%
28th district Democrat Christine Kilduff 68%
29th district Democrat David Sawyer 68%
29th district Democrat Steve Kirby 68%
38th district Democrat June Robinson 67%
38th district Democrat Mike Sells 67%
49th district Democrat Sharon Wylie 67%
49th district Democrat Jim Moeller 67%
24th district Democrat Kevin Van De Wege 66%
24th district Democrat Steve Tharinger 66%
3rd district Democrat Marcus Riccelli 66%
3rd district Democrat Timm Ormsby 66%
33rd district Democrat Tina Orwall 64%
33rd district Democrat Mia Gregerson 64%

1st district Democrat Derek Stanford 64%
1st district Democrat Luis Moscano 64%
21st district Democrat Lillian Ortiz-Self 63%
21st district Democrat Strom Peterson 63%
45th district Democrat Roger Goodman 63%
45th district Democrat Larry Springer 63%
11th district Democrat Zack Hudgins 62%
11th district Democrat Steve Bergquist 62%
32nd district Democrat Cindy Ryu 61%
32nd district Democrat Ruth Kagi 61%
41st district Democrat Tara Senn 61%
41st district Democrat Judy Clibborn 61%
23rd district Democrat Sherry Appleton 60%
23rd district Democrat Drew Hansen 60%
48th district Democrat Joan McBride 60%
48th district Democrat Patty Kuderer 60%
27th district Democrat Laurie Jinkins 60%
27th district Democrat Jake Fey 60%
40th district Democrat Kristine Lytton 59%
40th district Democrat Jeff Morris 59%
22nd district Democrat Chris Reykdal 54%
22nd district Democrat Sam Hunt 54%

It’s important that these 18 Democrat Senators and 40 Democrat House members hear from the citizenry.  We ask each of you to send these 58 legislators an email.  Write something like this (feel free to add more, tell ’em how you feel):

“Voters in your districts clearly support the 2/3-for-taxes legislative vote requirement.  You’re elected to represent the people, not rule over them.”

Cut and paste these into the “To” line:


© 2020 Permanent Offense


© 2020 Permanent Offense