Today’s supreme court ruling on I-1366 …

by | Nov 12, 2015

Opponents were desperate.  After 5 voter approvals for initiatives making it tougher to raise taxes, our qualification of I-1366 for the ballot really freaked ’em out.  They knew the voters were going to support us again.  So they tried to prevent the people’s vote on Initiative 1366 with a completely undemocratic lawsuit.

         But staring them in the face were 2 unanimous state supreme court rulings saying the people have the right to vote on initiatives that qualify for the ballot.  They decided to ignore those clear precedents and waste everyone’s time with another quixotic block-the-vote lawsuit.  Predictably, before the election, the state supreme court refused the invitation and didn’t prevent the vote on I-1366.

        Today, the state supreme court issued their formal written ruling on it.

        Everyone in the media is trying to read the tea leaves, looking for hints on the justices’ thinking on I-1366.  It’s a fool’s errand.  Bottom line:  we won when voters got to vote and we won when voters passed I-1366.  Opponents’ scheme to prevent the people’s vote was a colossal failure.

       And the voters’ message to Olympia could not be clearer. 

       We’ve now had 6 ballot measures and 6 public campaigns for them.  And 6 times the voters considered the arguments of both sides and have repeatedly OK’s all 6.  The people are simply demanding a greater voice in their government when it comes to taxing decisions, what’s wrong with that?  
        Here are the 18 Senate Democrats and the percentage of voter support for the 2/3 in their districts (from the high-turnout 2012 presidential year when Initiative 1185 received more votes than any initiative in state history):

19th district Democrat Dean Takko 70%
44th district Democrat Steve Hobbs 69%
5th district Democrat Mark Mullet 68%
29th district Democrat Steve Conway 68%
38th district Democrat John McCoy 67%
49th district Democrat Annette Cleveland 67%
24th district Democrat Jim Hargrove 66%

3rd district Democrat Andy Billig 66%
33rd district Democrat Karen Keiser 64%
1st district Democrat Rosemary McAuliffe 64%
21st district Democrat Marko Liias 63%
11th district Democrat Bob Hasegawa 62%
32nd district Democrat Maralyn Chase 61%
23rd district Democrat Christine Rolfes 60%
48th district Democrat Cyrus Habib 60%
27th district Democrat Jeannie Darneille 60%
40th district Democrat Kevin Ranker 59%
22nd district Democrat Karen Fraser 54%

      And here are the 40 House Democrats and the percentage of voter support for the 2/3 in their districts (from the high-turnout 2012 presidential year when Initiative 1185 received more votes than any initiative in state history):

31st district Democrat Chris Hurst 73%
19th district Democrat Brian Blake 70%
19th district Democrat JD Rossetti 70%
47th district Democrat Pat Sullivan 70%
44th district Democrat Hans Dunshee 69%
28th district Democrat Christine Kilduff 68%
29th district Democrat David Sawyer 68%
29th district Democrat Steve Kirby 68%
38th district Democrat June Robinson 67%
38th district Democrat Mike Sells 67%
49th district Democrat Sharon Wylie 67%
49th district Democrat Jim Moeller 67%
24th district Democrat Kevin Van De Wege 66%
24th district Democrat Steve Tharinger 66%
3rd district Democrat Marcus Riccelli 66%
3rd district Democrat Timm Ormsby 66%
33rd district Democrat Tina Orwall 64%
33rd district Democrat Mia Gregerson 64%

1st district Democrat Derek Stanford 64%
1st district Democrat Luis Moscoso 64%
21st district Democrat Lillian Ortiz-Self 63%
21st district Democrat Strom Peterson 63%
45th district Democrat Roger Goodman 63%
45th district Democrat Larry Springer 63%
11th district Democrat Zack Hudgins 62%
11th district Democrat Steve Bergquist 62%
32nd district Democrat Cindy Ryu 61%
32nd district Democrat Ruth Kagi 61%
41st district Democrat Tana Senn 61%
41st district Democrat Judy Clibborn 61%
23rd district Democrat Sherry Appleton 60%
23rd district Democrat Drew Hansen 60%
48th district Democrat Joan McBride 60%
48th district Democrat Patty Kuderer 60%
27th district Democrat Laurie Jinkins 60%
27th district Democrat Jake Fey 60%
40th district Democrat Kristine Lytton 59%
40th district Democrat Jeff Morris 59%
22nd district Democrat Chris Reykdal 54%
22nd district Democrat Sam Hunt 54%

          It’s critical that these 18 Democrat Senators and 40 Democrat House members hear from the citizenry.  We ask each of you to send these 58 legislators an email.  Write something like this (feel free to add more, tell ’em how you feel):

“In a high turnout presidential year, a huge percentage of your constituents supported the 2/3 vote requirement of the Legislature to raise taxes.  You’re elected to represent the people, not rule over them.”

        Cut and paste these into the “To” line:

dean.takko@leg.wa.govsteve.hobbs@leg.wa.govmark.mullet@leg.wa.govsteve.conway@leg.wa.govjohn.mccoy@leg.wa.govannette.cleveland@leg.wa.govjim.hargrove@leg.wa.govandy.billig@leg.wa.govkaren.keiser@leg.wa.govrosemary.mcauliffe@leg.wa.govmarko.liias@leg.wa.govbob.hasegawa@leg.wa.govmaralyn.chase@leg.wa.govchristine.rolfes@leg.wa.govcyrus.habib@leg.wa.govj.darneille@leg.wa.govjeannie.darneille@leg.wa.govkevin.ranker@leg.wa.govkaren.fraser@leg.wa.govchristopher.hurst@leg.wa.govbrian.blake@leg.wa.govjd.rossetti@leg.wa.govpat.sullivan@leg.wa.govhans.dunshee@leg.wa.govchristine.kilduff@leg.wa.govdavid.sawyer@leg.wa.govsteve.kirby@leg.wa.govjune.robinson@leg.wa.govmike.sells@leg.wa.govsharon.wylie@leg.wa.govjim.moeller@leg.wa.govkevin.vandewege@leg.wa.govsteve.tharinger@leg.wa.govmarcus.riccelli@leg.wa.govtimm.ormsby@leg.wa.govtina.orwall@leg.wa.govmia.gregerson@leg.wa.govderek.stanford@leg.wa.govluis.moscoso@leg.wa.govlillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.govstrom.peterson@leg.wa.govroger.goodman@leg.wa.govlarry.springer@leg.wa.govzack.hudgins@leg.wa.govsteve.bergquist@leg.wa.govcindy.ryu@leg.wa.govruth.kagi@leg.wa.govtana.senn@leg.wa.govjudy.clibborn@leg.wa.govsherry.appleton@leg.wa.govdrew.hansen@leg.wa.govjoan.mcbride@leg.wa.govpatty.kuderer@leg.wa.govlaurie.jinkins@leg.wa.govjake.fey@leg.wa.govkristine.lytton@leg.wa.govjeff.morris@leg.wa.govchris.reykdal@leg.wa.govsam.hunt@leg.wa.govtim_eyman@comcast.net

          They should do exactly what the Columbian editorial board recommended today:  “The Columbian argued editorially against the measure prior to last week’s election.  But the public again has told lawmakers that they should be better stewards of the people’s money … lawmakers must be compelled to listen.  Their best option is to place a two-thirds amendment on the ballot.”

© 2020 Permanent Offense

 

© 2020 Permanent Offense