You did it! You stopped all those terrible anti-initiative bills

by | Apr 17, 2015

This year we saw the most concerted effort ever by politicians in Olympia to gut like a pig the citizens’ initiative process.  There were anti-initiative constitutional amendments, there were a litany of anti-initiative bills — there was spin and doubletalk and total crap being spewed by the legislative sponsors. 

         But thank goodness there were citizens like you willing to say ‘stop.’

         We had some key allies in the Legislature who worked diligently to block this year’s crop of anti-initiative bills:  

Sen. Pam Roach (R-Auburn):  “This is our biggest victory yet!  This was the most aggressive assault against initiatives I’ve ever seen.  As chair of Senate Gov Ops, one of my top priorities is the protection of the initiative process.  I couldn’t be happier that this year’s crop of legislative attacks failed.”

Rep. Jeff Holy (R-Cheney):  “I support the citizens’ initiative process and I was happy and relieved when SB 5715 missed Wednesday’s cut-off.  I’m proud to have played a positive role in its’ demise.” (message from Eyman:  remember, it was Holy who waged a heroic ‘amendment filibuster’ in committee)

Rep. Luanne van Werven (R-Bellingham):  “Throughout this year’s legislative session, I closely watched every list of bills pulled from the Rules Committee hoping anti-initiative bill SB 5715 would not reach the House floor before the Wednesday 5:00 PM deadline.  My Republican colleagues and I opposed this bill when it came before our State Government Committee and were prepared to mount strong opposition if it came to the House floor.  In the end, it was a bipartisan effort that held the line on this bill.  It was a good day for the voters who value our initiative process.”

Rep. Matt Shea (R-Spokane Valley):  “The people reserve the initiative power to themselves and government doesn’t need to be mucking it up.  And that’s exactly what SB 5715 did and that’s why we worked so hard to kill it.  We were ready with a mountain of amendments to deal with the bill if it had made it to the House floor.  But because of the overwhelming outcry of opposition from the citizenry, like-minded legislators in the House succeeded at bottling it up in the final days before cut-off.  We, the people, won.” 

         Send an email RIGHT NOW to all 98 House members — both Democrats and Republicans — that says something like this (feel free to add more, tell ’em what you think):

“I’m really pleased that members of the state house stopped anti-initiative bill SB 5715.  The government needs to be neutral on initiatives and this bill violated that neutrality by empowering the governor to sabotage initiatives he didn’t like.  Please block SB 5715 and other anti-initiative bills next year too.  Leave our initiative process alone.”    

         Cut and paste these 98 House members’ email addresses into the “To” line of your email to them:
sherry.appleton@leg.wa.govsteve.bergquist@leg.wa.govbrian.blake@leg.wa.govvincent.buys@leg.wa.govmichelle.caldier@leg.wa.govreuven.carlyle@leg.wa.govbruce.chandler@leg.wa.govfrank.chopp@leg.wa.govjudy.clibborn@leg.wa.goveileen.cody@leg.wa.govcary.condotta@leg.wa.govrichard.debolt@leg.wa.govtom.dent@leg.wa.govhans.dunshee@leg.wa.govsusan.fagan@leg.wa.govjessyn.farrell@leg.wa.govjake.fey@leg.wa.govjoe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.govroger.goodman@leg.wa.govmia.gregerson@leg.wa.govcarol.gregory@leg.wa.govdan.griffey@leg.wa.govlarry.haler@leg.wa.govdrew.hansen@leg.wa.govmark.hargrove@leg.wa.govmark.harmsworth@leg.wa.govpaul.harris@leg.wa.govbrad.hawkins@leg.wa.govdave.hayes@leg.wa.govjeff.holy@leg.wa.govzack.hudgins@leg.wa.govgraham.hunt@leg.wa.govsam.hunt@leg.wa.govross.hunter@leg.wa.govchristopher.hurst@leg.wa.govlaurie.jinkins@leg.wa.govnorm.johnson@leg.wa.govruth.kagi@leg.wa.govchristine.kilduff@leg.wa.govsteve.kirby@leg.wa.govbrad.klippert@leg.wa.govlinda.kochmar@leg.wa.govjoel.kretz@leg.wa.govdan.kristiansen@leg.wa.govkristine.lytton@leg.wa.govdrew.macewen@leg.wa.govchad.magendanz@leg.wa.govmatt.manweller@leg.wa.govjoan.mcbride@leg.wa.govgina.mccabe@leg.wa.govbob.mccaslin@leg.wa.govjim.moeller@leg.wa.govjeff.morris@leg.wa.govluis.moscoso@leg.wa.govdick.muri@leg.wa.govterry.nealey@leg.wa.goved.orcutt@leg.wa.govtimm.ormsby@leg.wa.govlillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.govtina.orwall@leg.wa.govkevin.parker@leg.wa.govstrom.peterson@leg.wa.goveric.pettigrew@leg.wa.govliz.pike@leg.wa.govgerry.pollet@leg.wa.govchris.reykdal@le;  shelly.short@leg.wa.govnorma.smith@leg.wa.govlarry.springer@leg.wa.govmelanie.stambaugh@leg.wa.govderek.stanford@leg.wa.govdrew.stokesbary@leg.wa.govpat.sullivan@leg.wa.govdean.takko@leg.wa.govgael.tarleton@leg.wa.govdavid.taylor@leg.wa.govsteve.tharinger@leg.wa.g

         By working together, we protected the initiative process from this horrendous legislative assault.  It just goes to show that the price of liberty is eternal vigilance.    

         Now it’s time for everyone to redouble their efforts regarding I-1366, the 2/3-For-Taxes Constitutional Amendment Initiative.  Success is the only option with the signature drive for I-1366.   Please help us make it happen.